Quality Improvement Through Planned Experimentation, 3rd Edition



quality-improvement-through-planned-experimentationBook Title:  Quality Improvement Through Planned Experimentation, 3rd Edition

Author:  Ronald D. Moen, Thomas W. Nolan, Lloyd P. Provost

Publisher:  McGraw-Hill

List Price:   US$125.00  Format:  hard cover; 476 pages

Publication Date:   2012   ISBN:    978-0-07-175966-3

Reviewer:      Ruthiann Frazier

Review Date:              February 2013

 Introduction to the Book 

Quality Improvement Through Planned Experimentation is an expansion on the Deming theory of Quality.  The book is an excellent example of the Deming theory and is a good refresher for project managers experienced in Quality controls.

The foreword is written by Edward Deming in 1990 and provides a very good overview of what to expect from this book.

Overview of Book’s Structure

Foreword written by Edwards Deming in 1990.  This foreword has appeared in all editions of this book.

Book is set up as a teaching tool with each chapter ending with Exercises and References for further research on the touched upon subject.

Chapter 1   – Improvement of Quality

Chapter 2   – Principles for Design and Analysis of Planned Experiments

Chapter 3   – Experiments with One Factor (General Approach)

Chapter 4   – Experiments with One Factor (Factorial Designs)

Chapter 5   – Reducing the Size of Experiments

Chapter 6   – Evaluating Sources of Variation

Chapter 7   – Sequential Experimentation – A Case Study (Improving a Milling Process)

Chapter 8   – Using a Time Series Response Variable (new chapter)

Chapter 9   – Experimentations with Factors at More Than Two Levels

Chapter 10 – Applications in Health Care (new chapter)

Chapter 11 – New Product Design (new chapter)

Appendix A – Evaluating Measurement Systems



Highlights: What’s New in this Book

The new materials in this third edition of the book are contained in Chapters 8, 10 and 11.   Additional graphs and diagrams were added to every chapter in this third edition.

Chapter 8 contains updated materials for sequential experimentation by using time series for the response variable.  A sequence of PDSA (Plan Do Study Act) cycles can be run for experiments from previous chapters utilizing the information contained in Chapter 8. 


To read entire Book Review (click here)

About the Reviewer

flag-usaRuthiann Frazier, PMP 

20+ years of international project management experience in wide variety of industries including IT, Telecommunications, Construction, Finance, Insurance, Publishing, Manufacturing, Pharmaceutical and Healthcare.  Was introduced to project management accidentally when a senior manager was looking for someone to take on a project and was the first face he saw.  That was over 20 years ago and my career as a project manager has lead to places and experiences that I would never have imagined but have enjoyed tremendously.  My most enjoyable assignment was working as a Program Director on failing international projects with young/new project managers.  It was gratifying to help the young/new project managers turn their projects around and to see them complete their assignments successfully.

Editor’s note:  This book review was the result of cooperation between the publisher, PM World Inc and the Dallas Chapter of the Project Management Institute (www.pmidallas.org). Publishers provide books to PM World, books are delivered to the PMI Dallas Chapter where they are given to chapter members who commit to providing a book review in a standard format; the reviews are published in the PM World Journal and PM World Library.  Since PMI Dallas Chapter members are generally mid-career professionals, they represent the intended audience for most PM books.  If you are an author or publisher of a book related to program or project management, and would like the book reviewed through this program, please contact [email protected].