APM Awards 2015 launches with new IT project category



10 May 2015 – London, UK – The Association for Project Management (APM) has announced the launch of the APM Awards 2015 campaign. Sponsored by T-Systems, the journey to find the very best projects and professionals from across all industry sectors in the UK has begun.

Headline sponsor T-Systems have also worked with APM to create a brand new category for 2015, providing an extra opportunity for walking away with the much-coveted trophy at the ceremony on Monday 2nd November.

IT Project of the Year has been added alongside the other, well-established APM Awards’ categories.

150510-pmwj35-IMAGEThe winner of this award will be the organisation that has delivered excellent results to the customer, stakeholders and wider community through successful delivery of their chosen information technology project that has been effectively planned, controlled and executed. The judges will be looking for challenging, complex IT projects demonstrating the most effective use of project management techniques, the greatest results through innovation and lessons learned for the profession.

This year has also seen a revamp of the individual, project professional award categories. Now with their own criteria, Project Professional of the Year and Young Project Professional of the Year have a greater emphasis on the story of the person behind the project.

The judges are interested to see the positive contribution the project professional has made to the outcome of their project, programme or portfolio and discovering who has delivered the greatest benefit to their stakeholders.

The APM Awards has been recognising excellence in the profession for over 20 years and has a broad choice of categories that give all kinds of projects, programmes and professionals from any industry sector the opportunity to enter.

Entry to the APM Awards 2015 is free, so there is no reason not to put your submission forward. However, make sure you enter before the deadline of Wednesday 1st July 2015. Find out more on how to enter.

Awards will be selected in the following categories (click on award to learn more):

Project Professional awards: 
Project Professional of the Year – sponsored by Atos
Young Project Professional of the Year – sponsored by Doosan Babcock

Project and programme awards:
Project of the Year – sponsored by QinetiQ 
Programme of the Year – sponsored by Program Framework
Social Project of the Year
Overseas Project of the Year
IT Project of the Year sponsored by T-Systems ​

Other categories:
Project Management Company of the Year – sponsored by 20|20 Business Insight
Shell HSSE Award – sponsored by Shell

Academic awards – sponsored by BAE Systems:
Herbert Walton Award
Geoffrey Trimble Award
Brian Willis Award

The London Hilton on Park Lane will again play host to the most prestigious night in the professional calendar. The awards dinner on Monday 2nd November is a great showcase of the invaluable contribution project management and project professionals make in all sectors of society.

Those who walk away with an APM Award trophy on the night can be proud to claim to be amongst the best projects, programmes and professionals in the country. Details of how to book your place at this glamorous event will be available soon.

Until then, please read the criteria for each category and the rules of entry carefully before deciding on which award to enter before the deadline date of 1st July.

Useful links:

The APM Awards is once again supported by some of the professions’ leading names.

Founded in 1972, the APM is a registered charity in the UK with more than over 21,150 individual and 547 corporate members. The APM is dedicated to the development of professional project, programme and portfolio management across all sectors of industry and beyond. APM, with branches throughout the UK and in Hong Kong, is the UK national representative in the International Project Management Association (IPMA). More information at http://www.apm.org.uk/

Source: Association for Project Management