2015 IPMA Research Awards – Call for Applications



Reported by Ewa Bednarczyk in Poland

30 March 2015 – Krakow, Poland and Zurich, Switzerland – The International Project Management Association (IPMA) has issued its call for applications for 2015 project management research awards. The IPMA Research Awards promote excellent research to enhance project management. With these annual awards IPMA recognises recent outstanding contributions to the development of the field and profession project management through professionally conducted research.

General criteria

150330-pmwJ33-call-IMAGE1Researchers may come from academia, other research institutions or industry. Researchers may come from disciplines other than project management but must contribute to the development of project, program management, project-oriented companies or any element named in the ICB – IPMA Competence Baseline.

The candidates apply with a research project. The research project must have had at least a duration of one year and must be completed when the application is handed in. Completion of research project may date back to 1 January 2014.

If a researcher (or lead researcher of a team) wins an IPMA Research Award, this person must not apply for the IPMA Research Awards the following three years.


  • IPMA Young Researcher Award: Cutting edge research of a young researcher (born 1980 or later, or the candidate can prove that he/she is less than 10 years involved in research).
  • IPMA Research Award: Cutting edge research project of a researcher or a team. The application of interdisciplinary projects is encouraged.


In each category we distinguish one prize. Winners can present their research at the annual IPMA Research Conference, where they are honored and have an opportunity to present their research project. The participation in the conference is financed by the IPMA.

Evaluation criteria

In the evaluation the jury considers the research results as well as the research process. The evaluation criteria are:

  • Research results achieved
  • Originality and innovation
  • Theoretical foundation
  • Transparency and professionalism of research process
  • Practical relevance
  • Management as research project

150330-pmwJ33-call-IMAGE2“It has been said that there is nothing as useful as a good theory. Research that makes a practical contribution to the development of project management drives innovation and improvement in practice. Recognition of the value of research coming from the professional associations, such at the IPMA Research Award is one of the highest rewards for doing practically meaningful research. My team, composed of Professor Svetlana Cicmil, Dr Stella George and myself, are greatly honoured to be the 2014 recipients of this honour and we encourage both researchers and practitioners to pay attention to the results of this competition. This Award is important to the profession because it both recognises research that makes a difference and promotes the dissemination of the findings to the practitioners who can make a concrete changes in practice.” Dr Janice Thomas, winner of the IPMA Research Award 2014 (on left in photo).

IPMA Research Award Jury 2015

Below we present Jury members of the Research Award 2015

Anbang Qi PhD, Prof., Nankai University, China

Rodney Turner PhD, Prof., SKEMA, France

Martina Huemann PhD, Prof., Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria

Miles Shepherd BSc, UK

Yvonne Schoper PhD, Prof., University of Applied Sciences Berlin, Germany

Jouko Vaskimo Dr. Candidate, Aalto University, Finland

Mladen Vukomanović PhD, Assist. Prof., University of Zagreb, Croatia

Constanta Bodea PhD, Prof., The Academy of Economic Studies Bucharest, Romania

Haukur Ingi Jonasson PhD, Assist. Prof., Reykjavik University, Iceland

Michael Young, Adjunct Associate Professor, University of Canberra, Australia

Anne Keegan PhD, Prof., Amsterdam Business School, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Director of the IPMA Research Award 2015 is Helgi Thor Ingason PhD, Associate prof., Reykjavik University, Iceland



  • Application forms are available at http://ipma.ch/awards/research-awards-2/
  • Applications are accepted until 15 June 2015
  • Formal check and acceptance of the application: 19 June 2015
  • IPMA Research Award ceremony at the 3rd IPMA Research Conference in Cape Town, South Africa: 25 November 2015.

Steps to follow

  1. Download Application form from our website
  2. Send it to [email protected] before 15 June 2015
  3. Gain worldwide recognition and present your research to lead project management audience at the 3rd IPMA Research Conference in Cape Town, South Africa.

For more information please contact the IPMA Award Office at [email protected].

Founded in 1965 and registered in Switzerland, the International Project Management Association (IPMA) is the world’s oldest international project management professional organization. IPMA is a federation of more than 50 national project management societies in Africa, Asia, Europe and the Americas. IPMA sponsors research, standards, awards, seminars, an annual world congress and the IPMA Young Crew, all related to professional project, programme and portfolio management. The president of IPMA for 2015-16 is Mr. Reinhard Wagner. For more information about IPMA, visit http://www.ipma.ch/.

Source: IPMA